Day 24 – Idea Muscle

I’m going to take my own advice and create a list of things I could write about before beginning. Here is the list I came up with (took about 20 minutes):

idea_muscle.png
Can you read my handwriting? ūüėÄ

I remember sometime ago I came across the concept that coming up with ideas is actually a muscle, just like any other muscle on your body (like your bicep).  This person (James Altucher) basically stated that all of us are able to come up with interesting ideas, but often times it requires you to sit down and actually think about these ideas.  He recommends coming up with a list of ten things, no matter how crazy, and just writing them down.  This way, you are training and flexing your brain in the process.  Most of the ideas will likely be pretty useless, but there may be gems as well!

Anyways, I worked my brain muscle a little today and that picture is what I came up with.

Related to the brickphone, here are a few things that happened to me recently:

  • I got a mystery message from the number 2300 – this is the second time this has happened to me. ¬†Here is what it looked likemystery_msg.pngThe fact that the message could not be displayed gave me a hint that possibly someone tried to send me a picture message, but I could not view it. ¬†I also could not see who it was from – another mystery. ¬†So i decided to swap SIM cards for a second to see if my smartphone would be able to pick up the backlogged messages. ¬†Unfortunately it could not, so I was left with a mystery message that I could not view.
  • A friend messaged me with a number I did not have saved, so I had to look it up on my smartphone (funny enough that number wasn’t there either – I ended up finding it on Facebook of all places!).
  • The small phone is much more convenient to talk on. ¬†It is just more comfortable to hold up to your head when talking (even though its volume is a little lower).
  • Lastly, and possibly most importantly, I am noticing that I am much more observant in public. ¬†Whenever I am out I don’t have a distraction in my pocket (although there are still moments, quite often, where I want to distract myself with my phone) so I end up looking around at people and things. ¬†This is actually a lot more interesting than scrolling through Twitter, imagine that!

Anyways, I think writing ideas down is a good way to prepare for writing.  I mean, they did teach us this all the way in middle school (outlines!) so this is not really anything revolutionary.  You be the judge of whether the content is better.

Alex

Leave a Reply

