Day 28- A couple days left

Only a couple days left of my experiment.  Here are some of the things I learned:

  • Getting rid of your smartphone is not a panacea for fixing focus and distractions.  That stuff still takes work (you can still distract yourself with many other things)
  • Being without internet in your pocket is really not that bad (especially with everyone else having smartphones)
  • Building habits take time, and the initial time period is the one requiring the most force
  • At the end of the day it is difficult to say what is “good” or “bad”.  Some of the things that are important to ask are – What does it do for me? Am I improving because of this?  Is it important to me?
  • Most people simply won’t think that it is unusual when I use my smartphone.
  • If I need to send a text while walking, I can still spend a lot of times looking down at my phone.  The difference between then and now is that now I notice what I am doing – I consciously understand that right now I am entering a digital world, which is somewhat hindering my experience of the real world.
  • The 30 day challenge is a pretty good way to dive into a specific habit or thing you’ve been trying to do – it’s long enough to develop somewhat of a habit and it’s long enough to see if you enjoy something, yet its not too long where you feel like the finish line is just too far away.

I will have a more comprehensive review of my experience on the final day!

Alex

We are close
Leave a Reply

